Wood Paintings

I’m always on the lookout for new challenges, partly because I love experimentation, but mostly because I have a very short attention span. I’ve been interested in the idea of painting on wood for a while, mainly because I find canvas to be disruptive when combined with the levels of detail I aim to achieve.

With that in mind, I purchased my first framed wood panel randomly and decided to use watercolours, instead of acrylic or oil. The results were heartening! I had no idea about the pigment bleeds, but I took control quickly enough and the result was The Key (kinglet), which I’m incredibly pleased with. Since then I’ve completed The Crown, Royal Banner, Tranquility, Lily and New Horizons, and I see no end to wood panels in the ‘Conversations’ body of work.

key-to-the-kingdom

‘The Key’ | Series: ‘Conversations’ | Artist: Lamice Ali | Materials: Watercolours and pencils on wood panel | Size: 6×8 inches

crown-of-the-kingdom

‘The Crown’ | Series: ‘Conversations’ | Artist: Lamice Ali | Materials: Watercolours and pencils on wood panel | Size: 6×8 inches

royal-banner

‘Royal Banner’ | Artist: Lamice Ali | Materials: Watercolours and pencils on wood panel | Size: 6×8 inches

Tranquility

‘Tranquility’ | Artist: Lamice Ali | Materials: Watercolours and pencils on wood panel | Size: 8×10 inches

Lilly

‘Lilly’ | Artist: Lamice Ali | Materials: Watercolours and pencils on wood panel | Size: 8×8 inches

New-Horizons

‘New Horizons’ | Artist: Lamice Ali | Materials: Watercolours and pencils on wood panel | Size: 8×8 inches

Compared to paper, the wood is sturdy and able to take quite a bit of water. It also comes framed and ready to hang, so I don’t have to worry about finding frames. I spend a lot of time looking for wood with character: obvious grain, whorls and pigment. I can’t wait to finally put oils to wood, but for now, I’m more than happy with my water paint/colour pencil combo :)

~ Lamice

Some of the above originals are for sale and available as giclée prints. Please contact us if you are interested.

One thought on “Wood Paintings

Leave a Reply

